Safety level

Safety Matters


Our blog discussing workplace safety opportunities in Nova Scotia and around the world.

Pratt and Whitney, Linda Corkum take home top awards for safety

Nova Scotia’s highest honours in workplace health and safety were handed out today at the sixth annual Mainstay Awards by the Minister of Labour and Advanced Education Kelly Regan and Workers’ Compensation Board CEO Stuart MacLean. The awards recognize the very best practices in the prevention of workplace injury, as well as leadership in fostering timely and safe return to work. A total of 10 awards were presented in the program’s eight categories.

This year, Nova Scotia’s top safety honour – the Safety Award of Excellence for an Organization - went to Pratt and Whitney Canada’s Enfield operation. Nova Scotia Trucking Safety Association (NSTSA) Executive Director Linda Corkum won the Safety Award of Excellence for an Individual. 

“Today, we recognize and congratulate 10 of the very best examples of workplace health and safety in this province,” said Mr. MacLean. “It takes leadership to truly change an organization’s culture and make health and safety a priority, and that’s exactly what our Mainstay winners have achieved.”  

“All of this year’s nominees and winners have shown themselves to be true leaders in workplace safety,” said Minister Regan. “They’ve set a good example for others to follow and should be recognized and applauded.”

Pratt and Whitney’s health and safety program is built on a foundation of collaboration and engagement. The company is committed to getting its employees involved in making their operation safe, and one-third participate directly in health and safety programs and committees in addition to their regular duties. Pratt and Whitney also has dedicated teams focussing on specific areas such as ergonomics, hazard risk assessment, and more. As a result of these efforts, Pratt and Whitney has reached 8.8 million hours without a time-loss injury. 

As Executive Director of the NSTSA, Linda Corkum has helped make her industry safer. She develops and delivers training programs, and works one-on-one with members to make sure their safety practices keep their people safe at work. Linda also serves and contributes on local and regional groups and committees, in an effort to build a strong culture of safety within the trucking industry and beyond.

Here is the full list of 2015 Mainstay Awards recipients: 

Pratt and Whitney – Safety Award of Excellence, Organization

Linda Corkum (Nova Scotia Trucking Safety Association) – Safety Award of Excellence, Individual
Kohltech International Limited - Safety Transformation
The Nova Scotia Health Research Foundation - Special Award for Small Business
Shawn Taylor (Halifax Water) - Individual Safety Champion
Hussman Canada - Employer Safety Champion
The Shaw Group Limited - Employer Safety Champion 
Cumberland Health Authority - Employer Return to Work Champion  
Canada Post Corporation - Employer Return to Work Champion  
Conrad LeLièvre (Engineers Nova Scotia)- Health and Safety Educator

The Mainstay Awards program is sponsored by the Department of Labour and Advanced Education and the WCB. The Awards honour companies and individuals who have demonstrated strong commitment and significant contribution to building a strong culture of workplace safety in Nova Scotia. To learn more about the Mainstay Awards, visit  

Comments are closed.

Nova SAFE - App Logo (Vertical)638237311761493152